# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF GIGGLESWICK PARISH COUNCIL, HELD ON TUESDAY, THE 9<sup>th</sup> MAY, 2023

# 1. Election of Chair for the Year 2023 – 2024.

On the proposal of Cllr Sarah Williamson, seconded by Cllr Rosie Scott, there being no other nominations, Cllr Martin Saunders was elected to serve as Chair.

### 2. Declaration of Chair's Acceptance of Office.

Cllr Martin Saunders signed the Declaration of Acceptance of the Office of Chair in the presence of and countersigned by the Proper Officer.

**3. Present:** Cllrs Martin Saunders, Paul Bradley, Colin Coleman, Isobel Perrings, Rosie Scott, and Sarah Williamson.

Apologies for non-attendance: Cllr Janet Ewin- Newhouse.

**In attendance:** NYC Cllr David Staveley, Parish Council Clerk Marijke Hill, and one member of the public.

The Council **resolved** to permit any councillor that is unable to sign their Declaration of Acceptance of Office at this meeting, or who has not undertaken this task before this meeting, to sign their Declaration before or at the next ordinary meeting of the Council.

#### 4. Election of Vice-Chair for the Year 2023 – 2024.

On the proposal of Cllr Rosie Scott, seconded by Cllr Sarah Williamson, there being no other nominations, Cllr Isobel Perrings was elected to serve as Vice-Chair.

### 5. Declaration of Vice-Chair's Acceptance of Office.

Cllr Isobel Perrings signed the Declaration of Acceptance of the Office of Vice-Chair in the presence of and countersigned by the Proper Officer.

#### 6. To receive Declaration of Interests

The Council has received the updated Declaration of Interests from all Members and agreed to send the Register of Members' Interests to the North Yorkshire Council as well as upload this document on the Parish Council's public website.

# 7. To appoint/confirm Representatives to external Committees / Organisations

- a The Foster and Poor Close Charities Mrs Margaret Airey
- b The Settle and Area Aid in Sickness Fund Cllr Sarah Williamson and Mrs Margaret Airey
- c The Hargraves and Green Educational Foundation Mr Ray Jones
- d The Brentwood Trust Mrs Margaret Airey and Mr Ray Jones
  The Council decided that Cllr Sarah Williamson contact the Brentwood Trust to
  enquire to be appointed as Trustee.
- e The Yorkshire Local Councils Associations Craven Branch Cllr Martin Saunders

The Council confirmed the re-appointment of Cllr Colin Coleman as Lead Member on footpath matters.

8. The Council **resolved** that the clerk and RFO is empowered to do anything expedient and necessary to ensure the continuous business of the Council, and to deal with mandatory undertakings in order to prevent the authority from incurring liability during the period that the delegation is applicable under the Local Government Act 1972, Section 101. The Council **resolved** that these delegated powers would be exercised by the clerk and RFO only after consultation with the Chairman and would be reported to all Councillors in a timely manner and minuted for ratification at the next meeting of the Council.

There being no further business to transact the Chairman closed the Meeting at 19.38 hours.

Marijke Hill Clerk to the Council